Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Lawrence County Sheriff's Office
Home History of the Sheriff's Office Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts
Bailiff Division
Detective Division
Emergency Management
Frequently Asked Questions
Jail Division
Inmate Roster
Patrol Division
Reserve Division
Victim's Advocate
Crime Tip HOTline 888-635-TIPS (8477) or submit via email

(417) 466-2131
(24 hours)

Crimestopper Hotline:
(888) 635-TIPS (8477)


240 North Main, Suite 10
Mt. Vernon, MO 65712

Administrative Office Hours:  M-F 8am - 4pm
Bailiff Division

Lt. Doug Bounous

The opening of the new Judicial Center in March of 2009 in Lawrence County caused the need for increased man power to cover new responsibilities. The leadership for the newly expanded division comes from Lt. Doug Bounous. The division also includes Sheriff's deputies Corporal Jim Sass, James Eden, Adam Jones, Tim Mayes and Mike Lyle.

The Bailiff division took on some new roles such as Civil Process, Sex Offender Validations, Sex Offender Investigations, Transports within the state including writs, D.O.C. commits, and transfers, also the new responsibilities included having a deputy posted at the front entrance running the metal detector for all persons entering the new Judicial Center, transporting inmates back and forth to court, opening and locking up the new Judicial Center, as well as the traditional role of standing in the court and announcing "all rise" as the judges enter and leave the court rooms.

A big difference that sets the Lawrence County Bailiffs aside from a lot of other areas is the fact all Bailiffs at Lawrence County are commissioned deputies with full arrest powers and employed and commissioned by the Sheriff's office under Sheriff Brad DeLay.

Deputy Jim Sass #252

Deputy James Eden #251

Deputy Adam Jones #253

Deputy Tim Mayes #254

Deputy Mike Lyle #255

New Transport Van
Press Releases
     Lawrence County Sheriff's Office | © 2014
     Lawrence County, Missouri